Tenno Sho Autumn G1 Guide

The Autumn Tenno Sho is now Japan's top 10-furlong contest and the first of its three late-season majors, preceding the Japan Cup and the Arima Kinen.


Distance: 2,000 metres
Venue: Tokyo
Prize money: ¥432,000,000

The autumn incarnation of the Tenno Sho was a long-distance race when it was inaugurated in 1937. But whereas its spring counterpart remains Japan’s premier staying event, the Autumn Tenno Sho is now the country’s top 10-furlong contest and the first of its three late-season majors, preceding the Japan Cup and the Arima Kinen.

Its distance was reduced to give a shorter option to three-year-olds unsuited to the 3000 metres of the final classic, the Kikuka Sho. Symboli Kris S and Almond Eye are the only horses to have won the Autumn Tenno Sho on two occasions, while six horses have won both the Spring Tenno Sho and the Autumn Tenno Sho, the most recent being Kitasan Black who won the Spring Tenno Sho in 2016 and 2017 and the Autumn Tenno Sho in 2017.

Featured winner: Just A Way

There may have been horses with more ability than Just A Way racing at points around the globe during 2014 but whether that was the case or not, it was he that was ranked the world’s best that year according to the IFHA’s often questionable list.

He reached that pinnacle with a spectacular run of form that began with a shock win in the 2013 Tenno Sho (Autumn). The Naosuke Sugai-trained galloper went into that assignment as a four-year-old with just two career wins from 15 starts but succeeded in defeating the exceptional mare Gentildonna.

The following spring, Just A Way won the Grade 2 Nakayama Kinen and showed it was no fluke when he spreadeagled the Group 1 Dubai Duty Free at Meydan in March 2014 to earn his high rating; for good measure, he followed up with a Grade 1 Yasuda Kinen victory back at home. That was the end of his sensational streak but it was a whirlwind while it lasted.

Past winners

2022EquinoxChristophe LemaireTetsuya KimuraSilk Racing1:57.5
2021EfforiaTakeshi YokoyamaYuichi ShikatoCarrot Farm1:57.9
2020Almond EyeChristophe LemaireSakae KuniedaSilk Racing1:57.8
2019Almond EyeChristophe LemaireSakae KuniedaSilk Racing1:56.2
2018Rey De OroChristophe LemaireKazuo FujisawaU Carrot Farm1:56.8
2017Kitasan BlackYutaka TakeHisashi ShimizuOno Shoji2:08.3
2016Maurice Ryan MooreNoriyuki HoriKazumi Yoshida1:59.3
2015Lovely DaySuguru HamanakaYasutoshi IkeeKaneko Makoto Holdings1:58.4
2014SpielbergHiroshi KitamuraKazuo FujisawaHidetoshi Yamamoto1:59.7
2013Just A WayYuichi FukunagaNaosuke SugaiAkatsuki Yamatoya1:57.5
2012Eishin FlashMirco DemuroHideaki FujiwaraToyomitsu Hirai1:57.3
2011Tosen JordanNicola PinnaYasutoshi IkeeTakya Shimakawa1:56.1
2010Buena VistaChristophe SoumillonHiroshi MatsudaSunday Racing Co Ltd1:58.2
2009CompanyNorihiro YokoyamaHidetaka OtonashiEiko Kondou1:57.2
2008VodkaYutaka TakeKatsuhiko SumiiYuzo Tanimizu1:57.2
2007Meisho SamsonYutaka TakeShigetada TakahashiYoshio Matsumoto1:58.4
2006Daiwa MajorKatsumi AndoHiroyuki UeharaKeizou Ooshiro1:58.8
2005Heavenly RomanceMikio MatsunagaMasashi YamamotoNosohiruzu Management2:00.1
2004Zenno Rob RoyOlivier PeslierKazuo FujisawaShinobu Oohasa1:58.9
2003Symboli Kris SOlivier PeslierKazuo FujisawaSymboli Stud1:58.0
2002Symboli Kris SYukio OkabeKazuo FujisawaSymboli Stud1:58.5
2001Agnes DigitalHirofumi ShiiToshiaki ShiraiTakao Watanabe2:02.0
2000T M Opera ORyuji WadaIchizo IwamotoMasatsugu Takezono1:59.9



    Subscribe now & get exclusive weekly content from Asian Racing Report direct to your inbox

      Expert ratings, tips & analysis for Hong Kong racing